Food Charter Champions

Many kinds of organizations are Food Charter Champions, including nonprofits, local and regional food networks, food policy councils, coalitions, institutions, public agencies, tribal councils, businesses, foundations, and more. Individuals are Food Charter Champions, too!

Read about Food Charter Champions who have already signed on to implement Minnesota Food Charter strategies. Then become one yourself!

Organizational Food Charter Champions

African American Center of Minnesota
Alternative Roots Farm
Cleaner Eats
Duluth Community Garden Program
East Side Table
Falls Hunger Coalition Food Shelf
Fare Table
Faribault, Martin, & Watonwan County SHIP
Farm Market Cafe, LLC
Free Range Food Co-op
Happy Dancing Turtle
Heritage Flour Power

Keystone Community Services
Local Initiatives Support Corporation
Manna Food Pantry, Inc.
Midwest Food Connection
Mill City Farmers Market
Minnesota Landscape Arboretum
NetZro, LLC
Open Arms of Minnesota
Pierz Foods
Prairie Ally Outdoor Center
Project Sweetie Pie
Region Nine Developement Commission
Rice County SHIP
Rural Advantage

Saint Anthony Park Community Council
Springfield Area Food Shelf
Sustainable Farming Association of MN
Tamales y Bicicletas
TC Food Justice
The Good Acre
The Sheridan Story
Twin Cities Mobile Market
Two Harbors Area Food Shelf
Urban Farm and Garden Alliance
Urban Ventures Farm and Nutrition
Valley Outreach
Youth Farm

Individual Food Charter Champions

Amber Ahonen
Heidi Ahonen
Haley Anderson
Julie Anderson
Jamie Bachaus
Ava Barr
Nadja Berneche
Alison Bettin
Kathy Brandt
Jeannine Carlson
Omari Chatman
Diana Cutts
Lisa Dierks
Susan Draves
Peter Engstrom

D Ford
Sara George
Abby Grove
Stephanie Heim
Emily Houser
Kristin Johnstad
Amy Jones
Marianne Jurayj
Lars Kuehnow
Beth Labenz
Trica Leland
Sue Letourneau
Joan McDonough-Schlech
Emily Mehr
Mary Montagne

Jenny Moorman
Julie Mundahl
Brian Naykki
Rachelle Pass
Carolyn Press
Denise Quick
Emily Richey
Ramona Robinson
Julie Seiber
Pat Seppanen
Kathleen Stephan
Mustafa Sundiata
Jasmine Swyningan
Terry VanDerPol
Aaryn Wilson
Kathy Zeman

Featured Food Charter Champions


David Nicholson

Food affordability

Samty Xiong

Equity Specialist, The Food Group

Food availability

Sara George

Manager, Wabasha Farmers Market. Vice President, Minnesota Farmers Market Association

Food affordability

Sheila Packwood

Food Program Director, Minnesota Department of Corrections

Food accessibility

Colleen Moriarty

Executive Director, Hunger Solutions

Food availability

Lillian Otieno

Produce Safety Outreach Coordinator, Minnesota Department of Agriculture

Food infrastructure

Janneke Quick Sobeck

Director of Live Well Winona; SHIP Co-Coordinator for Winona County

Food availability

Connie Carlson

Executive Director, Crow River Food Council

Food accessibility

Hannah Colby

Coordinator, Aitkin County Statewide Health Improvement Partnership Program

Food skills

Stacy Hammer

Registered Dietitian, Lower Sioux Health Care Center

Food availability

Megan Myrdal

Cass Clay Food Commission

Food accessibility

Robin Schow

Research Assistant at University of Minnesota, Healthy Foods, Healthy Lives Institute

Food skills

Randel Hanson

Geography Assistant Professor, University of Minnesota Duluth

Food infrastructure

Mary Marczak

Director of Urban Family Development and Evaluation, University of Minnesota Extension Center for Family Development

Food accessibility

Reginaldo Haslett-Marroquin

Chief Strategy Officer, Main Street Project

Food infrastructure

Cheryal Lee Hills

Region Five Development Commission

Food infrastructure

DeVon Nolen

Market and Outreach Manager for the West Broadway Farmers Market

Food affordability

David Manuel

Enrolled member and resident of the Red Lake Nation and community food educator

Food skills

Rob Zeaske

Chief Executive Officer, Second Harvest Heartland

Food availability

Rhys Williams

Executive Director, The Good Acre

Food infrastructure

Pakou Hang

Founder and Executive Director, Hmong American Farmers Association

Food infrastructure

Nadja Berneche

Healthy Comprehensive Plan Director, Terra Soma

Food infrastructure

Michelle Horovitz

Co-Founder & Executive Director, Appetite for Change

Food availability

Mary Jo Forbord

Coordinator, Morris Healthy Eating, University of Minnesota, Morris

Food skills

Maria Regan González

Health Equity Program Manager, Blue Cross and Blue Shield of Minnesota

Food availability

Lori Kratchmer

Executive Director, The Food Group

Food availability

Kristen Klingler

Senior Public Health Specialist, Minneapolis Department of Health

Food availability

Katherine Mackedanz

Community Planning Unit Manager, Todd County Health & Human Services

Food accessibility

Joan Nelson MacLeod

Vice President, Damon Farber Landscape Architects

Food infrastructure

Gina Nolte

Director, PartnerSHIP 4 Health

Food availability

Eric Weiss

Healthy Improvement Project Manager, Center for Prevention at Blue Cross and Blue Shield of Minnesota

Food accessibility

CeAnn Klug

Associate Program Director, University of Minnesota Extension

Food skills

Amanda Stoelb

Associate Director, Youth Farm

Food skills

Amanda Shongo

Statewide Health Improvement Programs (SHIP) Coordinator, Leech Lake Band of Ojibwe

Food accessibility

Bernie Hesse

Director of Special Projects, Legislative and Political Action, UFCW Local 1189

Food affordability

Kris Igo

Associate Director, Healthy Foods, Healthy Lives Institute, University of Minnesota

Food skills