The Minnesota Food Charter was made possible by the contributions, resources, and leadership of many people and the organizations that serve them. Special thanks for the involvement and expertise of the following individuals, who served on the Food Charter Steering Committee (SC), Food Charter Drafting Committee (DC), and Food Charter Launch Strategy Committee (LC):

Food Charter Planning Team Members

Lisa Gemlo and Tim Jenkins (Minnesota Department of Health)
Margaret Adamek and Katie Wahl (Terra Soma, LLC)
Jenna Carter, Christian Knights, and Alison Rotel (Center for Prevention at Blue Cross and Blue Shield of Minnesota)
Mindy Kurzer, University of Minnesota (Chair, SC)
David Benson, Farmer (SC)
Phil Brooks, H. Brooks Produce (SC)
Rachel Callanan, American Heart Association (SC)
Kathy Draeger, University of Minnesota Extension and Farmer (SC)
Joyce Ford, Farmer (SC)
Bonnie Frederickson, Farmer and Retired Public Health Nurse (SC)
Maria Regan Gonzalez, City of Bloomington Division of Public Health (SC)
Jamie Harvie, Institute for a Sustainable Future (SC)
Cheryal Hill, Region 5 Economic Development Commission (LC)
Kristine Igo, University of Minnesota (SC, DC)
Taya Kaufenberg, Wedge Natural Foods Co-op (SC)
Christian Knights, Center for Prevention at Blue Cross and Blue Shield of Minnesota (LC)
Rod Larkins, AURI (LC)
Warren Larson, Sanford Health (SC)
Amy Loew, General Mills (SC, DC)
Mary Marrow, Public Health Law Center (DC)
Warren McLean, Community Reinvestment Fund (SC)
Bruce Miller, Minnesota Farmers Union (SC, LC)
Vayong Moua, Center for Prevention at Blue Cross and Blue Shield of Minnesota (DC, LC)
Joanne Mulbah, Minnesota Chippewa Tribe (DC)
Susie Nanney, University of Minnesota (SC, DC)
Terry Nennich, University of Minnesota Extension and Farmer (SC)
Jan O’Donnell, Two Harbors Food Shelf (SC)
Charlie Poster, Minnesota Department of Agriculture (SC)
Simone Senogles, Headwaters Food Sovereignty Council and Indigenous Environmental Network (SC)
Scott Smith, Minnesota Department of Health (LC)
Mustafa Sundiata, University of Minnesota Extension (SC, DC)
Bob Tracy, Minnesota Council on Foundations (LC)
Kim Turner, White Earth Nation Health Education Program (SC)
Rachel Valesano, MN School Nutrition Association/
Owatonna School District (SC)
Janelle Waldock, Center for Prevention at Blue Cross and Blue Shield of Minnesota (SC)
David Wallinga, Healthy Food Action (SC, DC)
Craig Wethington, Minnesota Department of Education (LC)
Don Wyse, University of Minnesota (SC, LC)
Hli Xyooj, Farmers Legal Action Group (SC)

Minnesota Department of Health

Team leads: Bill Burleson, Lisa Gemlo, Tim Jenkins, Donna McDuffie.
MDH Leadership: Commissioner Ed Ehlinger; Assistant Commissioner Jeanne Ayers; Director, Office of State Health Improvement Initiatives, Julie Myhre; Chris Kimber.
Thank you to Rhonda Bauer and Lucy Schweitz

Technical Assistance Provider to the Minnesota Food Charter

Terra Soma, LLC

Organizational Hosts for Food Charter Steering Committee

University of Minnesota Healthy Foods, Healthy Lives Institute

Communications and Design Support

gish&co., C2 Communications, Ladywithafan Design, and Kinsale Communications

For more information on research, references, and findings associated with the Minnesota Food Charter, go to or contact